"A sacrament is a visible sign, instituted by Christ, to give grace." 

Sacraments are central for the faith life of Catholics.  They help us encounter the living Jesus, who comes to us in the signs and symbols of the sacraments.  He comes to us through cleansing water and invigorating oil to welcome us, life-giving bread and wine that become Christ’s Body and Blood, a hand outstretched in forgiveness, vows lovingly exchanged in marriage, a hand designating someone for ordained service and oil to strengthen the sick and comfort the dying.

In the sacraments we shared in the graced life of God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit.  Sacraments tell us that all of life is important to God, that no part of life is foreign to our Creator. Involving both our imaginations and our senses, the sacraments shape how we see ourselves, others and our world. Sacraments matter!

According to the Catechism of the Catholic Church, “Celebrated worthily in faith, the sacraments confer the grace that they signify. They are efficacious because in them Christ himself is at work; it is he who baptizes, he who acts in his sacraments in order to communicate the grace that each sacrament signifies” (#1127).

Our Church celebrates seven Sacraments. 

Sacraments of Initiation





Sacraments of Healing


Anointing of the Sick


Sacraments of Service to the Community


Holy Orders


Find out more about each sacrament and how you can celebrate them here at our parish, as well as in the Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston.